A Writer's Objectives

Fast Fiction Friday

My last post detailed how my brain was forcing me away from writing lately. It really hasn’t changed that much, but I decided that I can’t let myself fall into a pit of despair (Aka life without writing). So I am going to be forcing out daily posts until they decide to cooperate again.

Today, being Friday, is obviously TripleF. Following is my attempt to give you something interesting to read.

 

Your eyes crack open at the sound of a door closing. Stretching, you slowly drag yourself out of the relaxed state you’ve been in for hours and climb to your feet. You tread lightly into the next room only to see your housemate shedding her winter garb and tossing it to the floor. Her jacket makes a loud ‘thud’ as it hits the carpet. You hesitate, then decide to greet her.

Her eyes light up as she sees you. Her greeting is kind, loving even, and you bask in it as you return the affection. Her hand lightly brushes against you and you sigh inwardly at her touch. She smiles once more at you before turning her attention to the refrigerator. She continues talking to you, but you hear nothing. You are just happy to see she is home and safe.

At last, your housemate sinks into the cushions of the couch and sighs with what might be frustration, but you think it is more likely relief. You sit beside her and rest your head against her shoulder, hoping she knows that, without you saying it, you know she needs the attention. Before long she sighs again and her hand finds your head. She scratches behind your ears and you can’t resist the purr that begins to flow from you. This, you think to yourself, is a wonderful existence.

 

 

Last post, I asked for ideas/suggestions on what to do on Sunday posts aside from Six Sentence Sunday. I haven’t received any responses yet so those would be greatly welcomed! Also, please bear with my awful posts for a bit; as I said, I am forcing them out until they decide to play nicely again. And, as always:

 

I ask that if you join me for Fast Fiction Fridays, you share with me. In the comment section, post the link to wherever your piece of writing can be found(deviantART, writing forums, your own blog, etc.) If you do not have anywhere online to post the writing, you are welcome to either use the comment section to place your story, or email me at: FantasieAutor@gmail.com with either an attachment or the story as the body of the email.

Comments on: "Fast Fiction Friday" (4)

  1. Hi! I’m a new follower so have been catching up on your posts. Three things sprang to mind as I read this one:
    You write details wonderfully
    Find the joy by writing about what you love, be it writerly or day in the life of you observations.
    If you feel you must post on Sundays, how about a roundup of link love for blogs you enjoyed during the week? I love the link posts because there are so many great blogs out there and not enough time to read them all.

    Happy Friday 🙂

    • Hello there! Nice to hear from a new follower. I am glad you enjoy what you’ve seen so far!

      Thank so much for the compliment!

      Currently I’m in a state of mind where I don’t want to write ANYTHING. It happens on occasion. I hate it with a deep passion, but after I always have the best stuff to write.

      I post daily and my Sunday posts are usually Six Sentence Sundays (details in the ‘Daily Posts’ tab) but I’m running low on material to pull from at this point in time and wanted some ideas for other stuff to write. I like your idea! Unfortunately, while I blog daily (or try to) I don’t often get the chance to browse other blogs. I will be trying to do more of it, though, so hopefully I will have some to share in the future. =)

      Happy Friday!

  2. I don’t know what you can do on Sundays, but if you’re looking for another outlet for Fast Fiction Fridays, I host 30 Minute Fridays every week (starting at about 2:00 PM). I’d love for you to link up sometime. Your work is great. =)

    Now, onto the actual story. I love the perspective. The twist at the end really got me. I was slightly suspicious it was more than it appeared to be at the beginning, but I didn’t quite figure out until the reveal. Great piece!

Leave a Reply

