A Writer's Objectives

Like an old pair of jeans

Do you ever feel like the ability to write has abandoned you? I don’t mean writer’s block. I mean you sit down with all these awesome ideas, start typing and it just… sucks. Your usual style(s) of writing is nowhere to be found in the slop that you just put down on paper. It reads like some of the first things you ever wrote, when you were back in fourth grade and still learning all the rules of grammar and how to spell, how to use large words appropriately. It is utter drivel compared to the quality of writing you are used to producing.

This is what my life has been like the last two weeks. Aside from being sick with one of the worst colds I have had in a long time, I just can’t write. Yesterday was the first day I’ve produced something worth claiming as my own in a while.  Every other time I sat down to write, what I got down on paper was something so different (and terrible) compared to my usual that I wondered if I’d just lost my ability to write. Everything (including blog posts) was forced. And it was clear it was forced. But I had so much that I wanted to write that there was a traffic jam in my head.

In case you were wondering, yes, this was very uncomfortable.

Yesterday that strange… failure in my writing life ended. It was like putting on an old pair of jeans and realizing I still fit in them. Now I have to find time to do other things in my life. (GASP! There are things to do in life aside from write!?) Non-fiction, fan fiction, Dark Blood and a few short stories all want out…. at the same time. Plus I have to write a 3-page essay for my college course. This weekend could be interesting.

Have you ever gone through something like this? Tell me about it 🙂

 

Comments on: "Like an old pair of jeans" (1)

  1. I know how it feels to have pictures in my head. Awesome pictures, illustrations, situations, people. Then I take the pencil, open my sketchbook, but my hand refuses to do what I order it to do. For me it’s maybe still a bit the lack of ability, I still have to learn so much. But it happened with things I already can, like a face or an eye. Then I’m just not in the mood and stage to draw. I think it’s similar to what you have experienced with writing.

Leave a Reply

