A Writer's Objectives

Prepare Yourself

Today’s post has nothing to do with writing.

Halloween is creeping up on us. It happens to be my favorite holiday, for many reasons. I celebrate it two different ways; as Samhain (since I am Pagan) and as Halloween (because, let’s face it… tons of free candy is amazing).  Sometimes it really tweaks people out when I tell them I celebrate in two different ways, but it’s how I’ve done it for the last 10 years of my life. I honour those that I’ve lost over the years, and ancestors I never knew and I go out and have fun with friends, occasionally trick-or-treating (you’re never too old!).

I find that every year I am scrambling to figure out my costume the week before Halloween. I also, almost always, forget to get a bag of candy for the trick-or-treaters. I spend the week listening to my friends brag about their super-badass costumes that they have planned, or the parties they have lined up to go to so that every hour they’ll leave and go to a new party. The whole time I’m just trying to decide which of the costumes I already own I can re-wear and how to make it look cooler than the last time I wore it. On the Samhain end of things, I get wine (or sparkling grape juice) and make sure I have candles. I can’t light a bonfire behind my apartment building, so candles have to replace them as my source of cleansing flame. It’s all very simple and quick, but it always leaves me feeling calm and as though I have a deeper connection to those who have passed on.

This year, I’ve decided to pull out my old Egyptian Princess costume. It’s gold and frilly and has creepy mummified skulls on the belts. I’ll be altering it enough so that it doesn’t look so cheesy, then add a little make-up, straighten my hair and voila! Instant stereotypical Egyptian costume! Now, for those of you who know me personally, you should be wondering how I can even stand the thought of such a thing. Well, I may be obsessed with Egypt and ‘keeping things authentic’ etc. but Halloween is… well Halloween. Cheesy costumes (and of late those costumes, especially for women, seem to be getting skimpier with each year) and lots of make-up and masks. I think I can deal with non-authentic and stereotypical for one night.

With Samhain/Halloween just around the corner, I want to know how other people prepare for the holiday(s), and how they celebrate. I’d also like to know, if you dress up for Halloween, what is your costume going to be this year? If you celebrate Samhain, how do you do so? Leave me a comment and fill me in!

Comments on: "Prepare Yourself" (2)

  1. I tend to do it with a lot of random candy, people come over for a role play table top special game. This year it’s Supernatural with a bit of Vampire thrown in 🙂

Leave a Reply

