A Writer's Objectives

Fun Facts

Saturday has arrived! Yay! I think Saturday is my favorite day of the week. I never know what is going to happen on any Saturday 🙂

Because it is Saturday, it means that today is another Wild Card day. WC days are getting harder and harder, so more suggestions on what you’d like to see as a topic would be fantastic! Anyway, today I’m providing some fun facts about writers. These facts are things that I have found to be true for writers in general, but are not limited only to them.

 

  • While most writers are sober when they write, some write the best stuff when they are drunk. Jack London used to drink daily while he wrote. Edgar Allen Poe was another ‘drunken author’.
  • Authors have a habit of talking to themselves. Now, I know a lot of people do this, but I’ve found that we writers do it a lot more. And sometimes, it isn’t to ourselves that we are actually speaking. Ever have an argument with one of your characters, then realize it wasn’t in your head after all?
  • You know the old phrase “birds of a feather flock together”? It’s true! Most writers will find that the majority of their friends are also writers (or other artists). This is because they are on the same level intelligence wise and allow for deeper conversations. It also allows for things like ‘read-arounds’, which is when a group of writers sit together and read chapters of their work to the other for feedback.
  • Writers tend to be better at trivia. Strange, right? Not really! Think about all the reading we do (I know very few writers who don’t read) whether it is fiction or non-fiction. Not to mention all the research we have to do on subjects for our novels.
So, I had planned on having  a lot more facts for you lot, but something has come up. Maybe I’ll pick up where I left off today in my Tuesday post. Sorry for having to cut this short all! Add more facts in the comments if you like!

 

 

Comments on: "Fun Facts" (1)

  1. […] Saturday I began a list of fun facts about writers. I abandoned it rather suddenly because my best friend from home (I rarely get to see […]

Leave a Reply

