A Writer's Objectives

Rainy Days

Rainy days are the best, aren’t they? I mean, sure, there are some drawbacks. Outside activities are, for the most part, a no go. But for us writers, it means plenty of time to just relax and do what we do best.

Procrastinate.

I’ve had a post about in the past, so today’s is not going to dwell on the ways we procrastinate. I just mean to point out the fact that on rainy days, the perfect days to get things done, we writers tend find anything we can do that isn’t working on our latest piece of writing.

For example, I have a short story I should be working on. It could be the most important piece of writing I ever do, and here I am writing a blog post while also chatting with some fellow Supernatural fans about the latest episode. I’ve got a cup of tea and some snacks near by, my notes for the writing I planned to do today within reach, but not once have I even attempted to begin it.

Why is it that, on the days Mother Nature basically hands to us to do our work, do we do everything except write? We regret it the next day, Hell even when night falls and we realize how little we’ve done we beat ourselves up. So, why do we do it in the first place?

Comments on: "Rainy Days" (2)

  1. I LOVE rainy days. I can sleep in & not feel guilty. Plus there is something so relaxing listening to the rain.

Leave a Reply

