A Writer's Objectives

Fast Fiction Friday

His inability to command the attention of the room was almost miraculous. I sat to his left and watched the other men gathered there continue with their petty arguments and conversations as though their King had not spoken a word. It really baffled me how this mouse of a man expected to lead a country into war.

“Be still!” He called to the bickering crows before him. “Silence will commence, now!” I could see the flush rising to his face, to the tips of his tiny ears. He was embarrassed and angry, a terrifying combination for this man’s father. But for him, it was almost comical to watch. “SILENCE!” He bellowed, and still the men continued their incessant chatter.

Taking pity on my King, I stood and placed a hand on his shoulder. I could feel him quivering with the mix of emotions he was experiencing. He turned his head to look at me, and it took what strength I had not to laugh at him. “My Lord, perhaps another voice would turn their attention forward?” I suggested, and received a nod in response.

“Lords! Be still, our King wishes to speak!” Slowly, silence rolled down one end of the table then back up the other side. Men sat and turned their attention forward, their eyes focusing on the small man in regal wear. I took my seat once more, not chancing a glance at the King’s face lest it send me into a fit a laughter.

“Right,” visibly upset, the King clenched the table’s edge and scanned the faces of the men before him. “I have called you together this morn to discuss our plan of action. The enemy grows stronger, closer. And we must prevail.”

 

 

Today’s Triple F was triggered from a prompt I found. It just struck a cord of creativity in my mind and the result is something I am quite happy with.

I ask that if you join me for Fast Fiction Fridays, you share with me. In the comment section, post the link to wherever your piece of writing can be found(deviantART, writing forums, your own blog, etc.) If you do not have anywhere online to post the writing, you are welcome to either use the comment section to place your story, or email me at: FantasieAutor@gmail.com with either an attachment or the story as the body of the email. 

Comments on: "Fast Fiction Friday" (2)

  1. An interesting idea and a brilliant little post. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

