A Writer's Objectives

Time Writes

Let’s talk about the best time for writing sessions.

I find there are certain times of the day, or night as the case may be, that I write ‘better’ than others. Other factors come in to play as well,of course, but for me the time seems to influence my writing the most. Late at night, when I’ve had a pretty lazy and boring day, I find that I can produce some of the best work I’ve ever cranked out. I find that my mind is most open, most active at that time. I have always been a bit of a night owl, so it really doesn’t surprise me. It’s just interesting that about the time the sun sets and the moon begins to rise, my writer’s mind stirs and I get some great (and occasionally large amounts of) material.

I know some writers who work better first thing in the morning, right after they wake up and their mind is fresh and free of the stress of a typical day. Some of them use their dreams as inspiration, while others just feel more open and free to the writing flow at that time. Other people need a few hours to wake up, get some caffeine, and find a nice quiet place before they can get started with their writing.

I’ve always found it interesting how, not only writers, but people in general function at different levels at different times of day. I am not a morning person, usually, though some days I could make the early bird feel like a late sleeper and the person with coffee usually wonders if they accidentally gave me six cups and never noticed (Not that there is a person standing in my kitchen, handing out mugs of coffee. Though that would be fantastic…). I know people who wake up early (6am at the latest) and are some of the happiest and most obnoxious individuals you will encounter at that time of day. Some people wake up early physically, but their mind doesn’t catch up until noon or after. And other people, like myself, wake up at the same time every day and find themselves moderately productive through the day, but by the time the sun sets, suddenly the world can’t stop them from getting things done.

Some of my best poems, short stories and chapters have come from my late-night writing sessions. When is the best time of day for you to write? And do you know why, or is it just something that happens?

Comments on: "Time Writes" (2)

  1. I think I would probably write better at night, but I have kids, so staying up late isn’t an option. I try to write in the mornings sometimes, but there isn’t really a time of day that works best for me.

    • As much as I love the fact that my writing flows better at night, that doesn’t mean my spelling and grammar are best at night! Haha. I have to go through anything I write at night to make sure it doesn’t look like a three-year-old wrote it 😛

Leave a Reply

